All-American Girl (What I Wore 2/11/10)

Note:  This is actually a post that I wrote last week, but I haven’t gotten around to updating till now.  I need to find a way to post more consistently, instead of waiting several days and then inundating you with new posts all at once.  Oh, well.  At least I’m posting, right?  Anyway…

Inside my grown-up woman body, there is a 14-year-old preppy girl who tries her hardest to get out. Sometimes she succeeds, like today.

She is an American Eagle-loving, polo shirt-wearing, curly-haired girl whose most-needed outfit item is brown boots. She loves simple makeup, hair, and jewelry. She just wants to fit in with the older girls.

Honestly, when I was 14, American Eagle clothes were a little out of my family’s price range, so most of what I wore came from J.C. Penney, particularly their Arizona brand. But I definitely lusted after everything in AE. I wanted those lovely initials screen printed across my chest.

I’ll admit that I STILL lust after most of the stuff in AE. Not so much their logo tees and hoodies anymore, but mainly their dresses, sweaters/cardigans, jeans, and JEWELRY. They really have some lovely, quality jewelry.

Today’s outfit was born when I found these jeans yesterday (told you I’m still unpacking from the move) and tried them on and they FIT! Woo! It’s not that these jeans are so great, it’s just that I’m not sure if they ever really fit me before today. Please tell me I’m not the only girl who gets depressed because she’s gained weight and then buys clothes that she can barely/can’t at all squeeze into with the intention of losing those pounds quickly. I have tons of great dresses that I’ve bought on clearance that are currently way too small. I know it was ridiculous of me to buy too-small clothes in the first place, but now that I am losing weight, I have hope that I’m going to be able to rock those items before too much longer.

Anyway, I also rediscovered this red polo yesterday, and when I put it with the jeans, it looked so Lindsey-circa-2001 that I just had to add the boots and belt to fully complete the ensemble. I feel comfortable. I feel like me, but a different version of me than the one who goes to work in pencil skirts and ruffly tops. I feel like that girl again. And for today, that’s not such a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

