Ode to My Navy Blazer

A few weeks ago, I woke up on a Saturday morning and decided I just could no longer handle the piles of laundry (dirty, and clean just needing to be put away) and the fact that half of our clothes were still in boxes from our move.  I love organization, and when I see photos of other girls’ perfectly coordinated closets, I drool, but I am SO NOT THAT GIRL.  My house is messy 98% of the time.  I’m trying to get better about cleaning and organization, but I really struggle with those things.    I have days when I just can’t take the mess anymore, and I somewhat violently clean whatever needs cleaning.  That’s what happened on this particular Saturday.  It became a day of separating clothes into piles (give away, throw away, and keep), doing an insane amount of laundry, and, most happily, rediscovering pieces I hadn’t seen in a while.

One of those rediscovered pieces is my navy blazer.  I’ve worn it at least once a week (and sometimes two or three times) since finding it in a box I hadn’t opened since August.  I’ve had this blazer pretty much my whole adult life, and I would probably consider it my first grown-up clothing purchase.  I bought it the first semester of my freshman year of college.  I remember that blazers were becoming popular, and I spotted this one at Rue 21 and debated its merits, before deciding to purchase (despite my limited finances) because I felt like it could work in basically any situation.  And it has.  It’s a neutral color, it has a flattering cut, and it works whether or I’m dressed up or dressed down.  It’s also one of those magical pieces of clothing that seems to fit no matter what size I am.  Of course, it looks better on me when I’m thin, but it’s never said “No!  You can’t wear me because your arms are too fat!”  It’s accepting of me no matter my size, and I love it for that.

I tried to find some pictures of me wearing the blazer in years past, but I don’t seem to have any.  Here’s how I’ve worn it in the past week, though.

This was for a date night (to go see the movie Date Night!) last Friday.  Also pictured is another old stand-by, my striped t-shirt from Old Navy circa 2006.

Yep, you saw this look in my last post, but here’s another view.

This was my work outfit on Thursday.  (Ugh, my skirt looks super wrinkled.  It did not look like that to me in real life.)  I love navy with yellow, and I love yellow with grey, and I love pink with all of the above, hence this outfit.  (Alas, despite the awesome colors, the fit of this ensemble is off.  The top is a bit too tight (boo!) and the skirt is a bit too big (yay!).)

I also wore this blazer shopping yesterday with a lavender tank, khaki shorts, and gold sandals.  No pictures, because I am getting lazy about taking pictures of my casual ensembles.  I’ve got to get better about that!

As you can tell, I love this blazer.  Not because it is so awesomely special, but because it’s nice to have never-fail basics that you feel comfortable wearing in any situation.

(On a side note, I am having a lot of trouble getting good pictures.  I use my Nikon Coolpix L20, which I got at Christmas, and I know it’s a pretty good camera, so the problem lies with the skills of the user.  I know next to nothing about photography, but I want to improve.  If anyone has any tips, I’d be glad to hear them!)

Leave a Reply

