Lucky girl with three new dresses

I have a patient husband, one who indulges me when I ask him to do a photoshoot with me.  A photoshoot that includes props.  And wardrobe changes.  How else was I going to show you the dresses I’ve made?  These are my second, third, and fourth dresses made from a pattern (my first was a few years ago).  I’ve made other dresses just by eyeballing, cutting, and sewing, but most of those haven’t turned out too well.

Late afternoon sunshine.

Yep, you’ve seen this one before, but I decided to throw it in, anyway.

The Dress of Many Alterations.

Here’s the dress that I made and wore to the wedding I attended on Saturday.  Despite taking several pictures, we couldn’t get a good one of me standing up in the dress, so I’ll have to show you next time I wear it.

Dress #3 – gingham!

Black and white, because the color turned out terrible in this photo, and I couldn't fix it. The green dress is made a lot like this one.

Originally, I wanted a big, swingy circle skirt for the gingham dress, but I just didn’t have enough fabric.  I’d purchased the gingham a couple years ago, wanting to make a shirtdress like one I’d seen on Kiera Knightley, but I’d never quite figured out how.  But now I have a new dress that was basically free!  (I’d bought the supplies long ago, and just dug them out of my stash, so they felt free to me!)

I’m not sure I could pick a favorite dress out of these three, but right now I’m loving the gingham one.  The green one is my eldest child – I made all my mistakes on her.  She was strong-willed, but I struggled with her until she developed into a beautiful young lady.  The coral one is my middle – somewhat easier to handle, but with adjustment problems.  And the gingham is my baby – I coddled her and fussed over her, and I had a better idea of what I was doing.  There’s also the thrill of the new, since I haven’t worn her outside of my backyard yet.  I’m excited to style her up – what’s more summery and fun than gingham?

During our shoot, Daniel kept reminding me that he’s not a photographer.  “You’re my photographer,” I said, and I really do think he’s getting better at taking my photos.  Now if only I were better at posing for them!

Have a beautiful evening!

One response to “Lucky girl with three new dresses

  1. i want those dresses!

Leave a Reply

