Dress Your Best #1

I am participating in Dress Your Best 2011! I love the body-positive message this challenge sends, and I hope that by highlighting some of my favorite things about myself, I can boost my confidence a bit.

First up on my list is a feature that I have a dramatic relationship with: my hair. It’s been all shades of blonde, all shades of brown, and a few shades of red throughout the years. It’s been short, long, straight, curly, wavy, fringed, and fringeless. I joke that I have no trouble committing to a man, but can never commit to a hairstyle for long.  A few of my previous styles:

I’ve recently decided to ditch shampoo, in the hopes that I can rock my natural curls/waves more often, and that my hair will bounce back from some of the damage I’ve done to it with chemicals and heat. I’m also trying to grow it out. I’m still transitioning, but I have to say that I’m coming out of a long period of feeling  not so hot about my hair to feeling like it looks pretty good. Today, I dressed to highlight my locks.

All of the fiddling I’ve done with my hair for the past several years has resulted in my realizing that I feel the most “me” when I have longer, dark blonde, wavy locks. As weird as it may sound, I think a lot of my hair experiments have been the result of feeling less-than-good about myself, particularly my weight. I can’t drop 20 pounds instantly, but I can buy a box of hair color, or head to the salon, or hack into my own bangs and have a new look in 30 minutes. A part of me really loves being fearless with my hair – people are often shocked by how willing I am to change it. Another part of me, though, is ready to stop running from my insecurities and settle into a comfortable style for a bit.

I’m pretty close to my natural color at this point, with some highlights. I’ve always found that blue seems to work best with my natural coloring, and I felt bright and fresh today. I did not get any full-body pictures of this outfit, which I wore to Daniel’s ten-year class reunion (!), but just picture a denim skirt and cute sandals. It was perfect for the low-key festivities.

So what about you? Do you change your hair with your emotions, like me, or have you stuck with what works for you?

God has blessed me with amazing friends.

One response to “Dress Your Best #1

  1. Pingback: Things I have done in the past 72 hours… |

Leave a Reply

