Dress Your Best #3

Yesterday, I dressed to highlight the part of me I’m probably most familiar with: my face. The color and neckline of my blouse frame it nicely, I think. I pulled all of my hair back, which is something I almost never do because, somewhere along the way, I got the idea that it makes my face look huge. Well, it doesn’t. I should pull it back more often.

I read once that the more you look at a part of yourself in the mirror, the more comfortable you become with it. Years of applying makeup and fixing my hair mean that I’ve looked at my face in the mirror a lot. I know its peaks and valleys intimately.

My face does have some quirks. I have a scar right in the middle of my forehead that I got from jumping into a TV stand when I was about eight. (I was aiming for my cousin.) And yet, though it’s clearly visible in many of my photos, it’s not something I’m very conscious of anymore. I have to remind myself that it’s there. One thing that I do notice in my photos, but not as much in the mirror, is the slight asymmetry of my eyes and eyebrows. I cannot purposely cock an eyebrow to save my life, yet I often look as if I’m raising my right one. I’m not judging you, I promise!

I’ve battled with breakouts for years now, and I’ve recently stepped up my skincare regimen. I’ve been trying to wash my makeup off every night, no matter how tired I am. Being vigilant about cleansing and applying benzoyl peroxide and moisturizer is slowly but surely improving the quality of my skin.

I used to want blue eyes more than anything, but now I love my distinct brand of hazel. (The person I know whose eye color is most like mine is not a family member, but my very best friend. Isn’t that odd? I think it’s a sign that we’re soul mates.) I love the shape of my eyebrows.  I love my cheeks – they’re exactly like my beautiful grandmother’s. I love my smile. And as a makeup junkie, I love that I can use my face as a canvas for a rainbow of colors.

My face has character. What’s the saying about getting the face you deserve when you’re old? I hope when I’m an old woman, my face is the face of a gracious, kind woman who has laughed and loved with all her heart.

God has blessed me by having compassion on me.

One response to “Dress Your Best #3

  1. Love the knotted shirt! And you have a lovely face, so keep on rockin’ that smile with pride! By the way, Jazzercise is actually really fun and hard. My mom has done it for over 20 years, and there are classes all over the US. Here’s the website if you wanted to find one near you:

    http://jazzercise.com/

    Good luck! Let me know if you try it. : )

Leave a Reply

